act2create: Failed badly but bounced back :)

During my last run, I performed badly. To achieve the goal of successfully completing the first green run i.e. 10K of my life, I have been trying to prepare myself for the same in the past few days. During the last run, I only managed to run 3 Miles whereas the goal was to run 6.2 Miles or more. Yesterday was meant to be a day for run as per my alternate day workout plan.

As promised to myself, I wished to achieve my goal of waking up at 6.00 A.M. in the morning and I am preparing it slowly. The alarm for the morning run was set for 6.15 A.M. and I woke up when it gave its signal. I headed for the joggers park and I had my headphones, water pouch and my Cell phone with me. With all my eagerness, I began the run at the park and the goal today was to run for not less than 7 miles. With my current speed, it meant I would be running for more than an hour as I am running at a speed of 9.5 to 10.5 miles per hour.

I began my run and my ankles felt tired within the first mile. I was disappointed to see how tired I got in the first mile itself. I thought this was just my mind trying to play tricks with me and I decided to not to pay attention to it, By the time I reached 1.66 Miles, I stopped as my ankles were in terrible pain. Disappointed with this distance I was feeling ashamed of myself. I reached once again at the center of the park and untied my shoes to relax. I was in a total disappointment and I asked myself, what will you do at the 10K run on 15th Feb? Is this how I wish to accomplish? All my practice seemed to be in vain.

act2create - Failed run
act2create – Failed run

After this, I gave my ankles the time to recover and I was watching the people around the park. It was the saddest moment of my running phase. I stayed at the same spot for 45 minutes or so.

It was my mind who refused to give up that decided that I should get up and run again. At the same time, I thought may be I should try next time. I finally decided that I would run once again and I set the goal to run for 1 Mile in a comfortable pace. 3-2-1 and I started all over again and I achieved my first mile with no headphones or music in my ear. After the first mile, I decided to try running for the next mile and continued doing so with each mile. I ran 5 miles at the park and kept going. The paid joggers park is only available till 9.00 A.M. and the security guy indicated that I should stop my run or get out of the park. I was determined to complete my green run distance of 10 K which is around 6 Miles or a little more and I kept running on the road to achieve the goal. Yippeeee!!! I did it. I ran longer than before!

act2create - My longest distance
act2create – My longest distance

It is said that victory and courage pays and I do agree with it. I also achieved my new accomplishment, my total 50K run since I began with fitness from January this year. I achieved my orange band in Nike+. Also what a coincidence, this is my 50th post as well on act2create blog 🙂

act2create - 50 Kilometres badge
act2create – 50 Kilometres badge

Leave a comment